Thursday, April 1, 2010

Mike Eaves May be the Coach of the Year

Mike Eaves of the University of Wisconsin has been selected as one of 10 finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, given annually to the top coach in NCAA Division I men's hockey.
The list of finalists for the award, presented by the American Hockey Coaches Association, includes the coaches of all four teams at the Frozen Four: Eaves, Enrico Blasi of Miami (Ohio), Wayne Wilson of the Rochester Institute of Technology and Jerry York of Boston College.
Eaves was runner-up to Blasi in 2006 for the award, marking the only other time he was nominated. No UW coach has ever won the award, which is celebrating its 60th year.
To be a finalist for the award, a coaches must either be voted Coach of the Year in his conference or take his team to the NCAA Frozen Four.
The Spencer Penrose Award is named in honor of the former Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA hockey championships.
The 2010 winner will be announced after the Frozen Four and presented at the American Hockey Coaches Association banquet on May 1 in Naples, Fla.
If he wins the award it will be great for Wisconsin. GO BUCKY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

No comments: